Stave Drums

timeless design

classic sound

&

Stave Drums

Statement Series

Stave drums. These shells are known all over the world for their unbeatable sound. No manufacturer will ever achieve this quality with plywood drums and that’s no secret. The combination of clarity, sound and resonance that solid wood instruments produce is and remains unique. No other construction sounds nearly as fantastic.
Drums are basically something very simple and sound due to numerous factors in their own way. The freer the shell can swing, the more natural it will sound. Low shell tensions, few impurities, good hardware that does not restrict and natural shell materials.

Solid Wood

-The argument par excellence-

The good tone starts with the choice of wood and solid wood is the argument par excellence when it comes to good instruments. What sounds more natural than nature itself? Wood that is always well seasoned and suitable for instrument making is used. The planks and boards are hand selected and used accordingly. Mostly built with maple (from own production), Afzelia Africana, walnut, cherry, wenge, mahogany, oak, elm and padouk.

Far more types of wood can be processed and are available for almost every wish.

Stave Drums-Lynx Drums

Adhesive

-797:1-

797:1  -> You should remember this number

Specific angles are milled onto the selected boards and these boards are then arranged in a circle and glued. The amount of adhesive is negligibly low. One can imagine that adhesive does not really make a good and natural tone. Comparing a 6ply drum with an 8mm stack drum, the adhesive ratio is estimated to be 797:1. With more layers correspondingly larger!

Thin shells manufactured with precision


The shells are manufactured with the assistance of CNC technology, which enables me to guarantee a very high standard of shell quality. This means that the manufacturing tolerances are very small and this is reflected in excellent tunability and a clean tone. Subsequent and continuous fine-tuning by hand draws the last pinch of potential from these drums. The stave drums are made as thin as possible so that the range of the drum is large. With the right choice of wood, a BD shell has only 8mm and guarantees a very full low-end.

Bearing Edges


The grain of stave drums is normally perpendicular to the bearing edge and this has its advantages. The bearing edge of the drum is very stable (anisotropy of wood) and remains exactly as it should be. Especially with deep shells there are further advantages. On the one hand, the flexure on the radial side of the shell is subject to low rigidity (stiffness) and on the other hand the body-borne sound spreads much more easily and thus more quickly along the wood’s fibres. So in the direction of the resonance side. This results in maximum resonance and a deeper keynote.

Sphericity

Stave drums are produced almost tension-free and beyond that they are also turned in a cnc machine. Drums have internal stress conditions due to production which are reduced over time as the shell deforms. According to the motto “The weaker one gives in”. The tension conditions vary depending on the type of production. With stave drums these tensions are not present until hardly. Just so you know.
Drums are also deformed if they are tuned improperly -> very different tension conditions of the skin cause the shell to be deformed. So clean tuning is preferable!

Stave Drums

zeitloses Design

klassischer Klang

&

Stave Drums

Statement Series

Stave Drums sind weltweit bekannt für ihren unschlagbaren Klang. Die Kombination von Klarheit, Klang und Resonanz die Massivholzinstrumente hervorbringen ist und bleibt einzigartig. Keine andere Konstruktion klingt annähernd so fantastisch.
Drums sind im Grunde etwas sehr einfaches und klingen aufgrund zahlreicher Faktoren in ihrer eigenen Art und Weise. Je freier der Kessel schwingen kann,  desto natürlicher wird er klingen. Geringe Kesselspannungen, wenig Fremdstoffe, gute Hardware die nicht einschränkt und natürliche Kesselmaterialien die sauber zu einem perfekten Instrument verarbeitet werden, sind die wichtigsten Dinge um Ihnen ein breites lächeln ins Gesicht zu zaubern.

Vollholz

-Das Argument schlechthin-

Der gute Ton beginnt bereits bei der Holzauswahl und Vollholz ist das Argument schlechthin wenn es um gute Instrumente geht. Was kann natürlicher klingen als die Natur selbst? Verarbeitet wird stets gut abgelagertes und für den Instrumentenbau geeignetes Holz. Die Bretter werden handselektiert und entsprechend eingesetzt. Gebaut wird meist mit Ahorn (aus eigener Produktion), Walnuss, Kirsch, Wenge, Mahagoni, Eiche, Ulme und  Padouk.

Stave Drums-Lynx Drums

Klebstoff

-797:1-

797:1 -> Diese Zahl sollten Sie sich merken

Auf die selektierten Bretter wird eine Gärung gefräst und diese Bretter werden anschließend in einem Kreis angeordnet und verklebt. Der Klebstoffanteil ist dabei verschwindend gering. Man kann sich vorstellen, dass Klebstoff nicht wirklich gut resoniert und kein natürlicher Ton entstehen kann.

Vergleicht man eine 6ply Drum mit einer 8mm Stave Drum, dann ist das Klebstoffverhältnis 797:1 . Bei mehr Lagen entsprechend größer!

Dünne Kessel mit Präzision hergestellt


Die Kessel werden mittels Unterstützung von CNC-Technik hergestellt und dadurch kann ein sehr hoher Standard bei der Kesselqualität gewährleistet werden. Das bedeutet, dass die Fertigungstoleranzen sehr klein sind und das äußert sich in einer ausgezeichneten Stimmbarkeit und einem sauberen Ton. Anschließende und durchgängige Feinabstimmung in Handarbeit, runden das Instrument ab. Die Stave Drums werden so dünn wie möglich gemacht, damit der Stimmumfang der Trommel groß ist. Bei entsprechender Holzauswahl hat ein BD Kessel gerade mal 8mm und garantiert ein sehr sattes Low-End.

Kesselgratung


Die Maserung steht bei Stave Drums normalerweise senkrecht zur Kesselgratung und das hat seine Vorteile. Die Kesselgratung ist sehr sehr stabil (Anisotropie von Holz) und bleibt in ihrer Form genauso wie sie sein soll. Insbesondere beim tiefen Kessel gibt es weitere Vorteile.  Zum einen ist der Kessel in seiner Flexur auf der radialen Seite mit geringer Rigidität (Steifigkeit) behaftet und zum anderen breitet sich der Körperschall wesentlich leichter und dadurch schneller entlang der Faser des Holzes aus, also in Richtung Resonanzseite. Dadurch erreicht man maximale Resonanz und einen tieferen Grundton.

Rundheit

Stave Drums werden quasi spannungsfrei hergestellt und darüber hinaus auch noch abgedreht. Bei allen Trommeln herrschen produktionsbedingt interne Spannungsverhältnisse die im Laufe der Zeit abgebaut werden indem sich der Kessel verformt. So nach dem Motto „Der Schwächere gibt nach“. Die Spannungsverhältnisse sind je nach Produktionsart unterschiedlich. Bei Stave Drums sind diese Spannungen nicht bis kaum vorhanden.